XJ REVIEWS

XJ Rhodium Silver

Who is talking about the XJ?

The reveal of the XJ has triggered a flurry of anticipation across the world. You can find a selection of commentaries and reviews on this page.

  • TOP GEAR MAGAZINE, 1ST APRIL 2010, PAUL HORRELL

    As the road starts to curve and then twist and then cork screw and then hairpin, the car just stays with it. When big cars try to be sporty, usually this is where it all goes to pieces. Some of them might have all sorts of fancy active suspensions that do keep them on the road ail right, but things just go into lock down: harsh damping and shuddering bodywork and a burgeoning sense of the absurdity of it all. The XJ on the other hand stays fluent and agile. It feels all perfectly natural, like it's not pulling any special tricks - though it definitely must be.
    Read the full article >

  • SUEDDEUTSCHE ZEITUNG, 15TH MARCH 2010, GEORG KACHER

    On the road, the XJ is surprisingly dynamic. The three litre diesel engine has 275 hp and acoustically unobtrusive together with explosive engine performance. The Jaguar body is light compared to that of the competitors Mercedes and BMW, with 150 kilos less on the scales.
    Read the full article >

  • AUTOCAR, 17TH MARCH 2010, MATT SAUNDERS

    Its design is as clever as it is contemporary, dominated by a swathe of veneer that runs around the entire cabin and across the dashboard, making occupants feel cocooned and interconnected. Soft leathers and solid textured plastics dominate your tactile sensations, while chrome highlights and glossy trims add the finishing touches. This is a cabin you just don't want to get out of.
    Read the full article >

  • CAR MAGAZINE, 1ST APRIL 2010, GAVIN GREEN

    People- kids, men, women -look at the XJ and nod approvingly. It's been along time since I've driven a car that creates such a street buzz.

    But the more I pore over the XJ, and examine every angle, the more I like it. It's modern, classy, even beautiful. And it dresses a car that is surely the very best in its class.
    Read the full article >

  • AUTOBILD, 12TH MARCH 2010, WOLFGANG KOENIG

    The new Jaguar XJ steals the show – this is the way it should be.
    Read the full article >

  • EVO.CO.UK, 16TH SEPTEMBER

    The good news is that it's a belter - while the looks have caused anawful lot controversy, they work distinctly better in the metal than inpictures, and in the numerous colours that can be spotted aroundFrankfurt (especially black) it's a properly striking and modern pieceof design. We even got a quick ride in one - the range-toppingSupersports, with the 503bhp V8 engine from the Jaguar XFR - and wereimpressed.
    http://www.evo.co.uk/news/evonews/241957/new_jaguar_xj.html

  • WHATCAR.COM, 11TH SEPTEMBER

    Most impressive of all is the car's body control. It makes theelaborately crafted grab-handles redundant. You can read or scribblenotes on the move, even when 'tramping on'. And despite 20-inch wheels,you're rarely troubled by jolts.
    http://www.whatcar.com/car-news/jaguar-xj-from-the-rear-seat/243171

  • THESUN.CO.UK, 10TH SEPTEMBER

    It is hard to fault the XJ having spent several hours in the car - and this is not blind British patriotism.

    TheXJ is an excellent and potentially great car that has more than enoughto put Jaguar back to the top of the executive pile when it hitsshowrooms early in January.
    http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/motors/ken_gibson/2631345/Say-hello-to-the-new-boss.html

  • LATIMESBLOGS.LATIMES.COM, 14TH AUGUST

    This is a richly elegant car, with lots of futurism and overachievingfrom a company once known for underachieving and the designers' versionof ancestor worship. It's also an expensive car to build and you cansee many corners that were left uncut for the sake of sheergorgeousness. "We are developing a culture at Jaguar that says, Look,design is out single biggest attribute. Let's use it."

    Verdict: Fabulous.
    http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/uptospeed/2009/08/from-pebble-beach-all-new-jag-flagship-a-cat-with-sparkle.html

  • TIMESONLINE.CO.UK, 12TH JULY

    The new XJ is aimed squarely at taking on the likes of Mercedes andBMW. From the outside, it certainly looks the business. Get behind thewheel and I think it is more than a match for any of the big luxurysedans - or saloons, as you guys like to call them - and with a bitmore soul. Sometimes the German sedans get accused of being a bit cold,but the Jag is a very warm car. It’s sporty, it’s fast and it has thatclassic Jaguar ride.
    I would recommend the XJ. It’s a rationalchoice, to my mind, but I bet most buyers will still arrive at itentirely irrationally. You’ll walk into the showroom, take one look atthe car and fall in love, crossing your fingers and hoping that it’sreliable. (Jay Leno)
    http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/driving/new_car_reviews/article6682777.ece?token=null&offset=12&page=2

  • JALOPNIK.COM, 14TH JULY

    There's no questioning the 2010 Jaguar XJ is controversial in itsdesign. We've compiled a gallery of 68 images to help set the recordstraight. Pussycat! Faster, Kill!
    http://jalopnik.com/5312392/2010-jaguar-xj-a-controversially-redesigned-pussycat/

  • UK.AUTOBLOG.COM, 14TH JULY

    Good design should polarise opinion, and the XJ certainly does that.Particularly as the radical break from the style of its predecessorsmakes the step to the new XJ seem even bigger.
    http://uk.autoblog.com/2009/07/14/jaguar-xj-a-fresh-interpretation/

  • CARSUK.NET, 14TH JULY

    You've probably read all there is to read on here on the new Jaguar XJ.We have to agree that it's a brilliant car – although the final proofwill be on it drives, which won't be getting a chance to do until laterin the year – and we are blown away by the design of both the interiorand exterior.
    http://www.carsuk.net/new-jaguar-xj-driving-in-london/

  • BMWBLOG.COM, 13TH JULY

    The car has been completely redesigned and features an aluminum chassis and a coupe style back putting the car in the same class as the Maserati Quattroporte, Porsche Panamera and the upcoming Aston Martin Rapide. The interior features a Bower & Wilkins sound system as well as redesigned navigation system.
    http://www.sybarites.org/2009/07/2010-jaguar-xj-series/

  • AUTOMOTIVERHYTHMS.COM, 12TH JULY

    The current XJ, timeless in design and sophisticated in presence,represents a history full of fond memories and remarkable achievements.Yet -- as all things must -- Jaguar needed to evolve its entire lineupinto the future, a task not easy as patrons become accustomed to the"known" and fearful of the "unknown." Nevertheless, with such anintrepid move on Jaguar’s part by far, the 2010 XJ is now more suitableto compete with the Benz S-Class and BMW 7-Series.

  • MIRROR.CO.UK QUENTIN WILSON, 11TH JULY

    This week Jaguar replaced the 40-year-old XJ with one of their freshest and most audacious designs yet.

    Monthsago I was given a privileged preview of the new XJ in the Coventryfirm's design studio, but was sworn to secrecy. I can tell you that inthe flesh the car is completely stunning, and my picture does it nojustice at all.
    http://blogs.mirror.co.uk/cars-motorbikes/2009/07/the-purr-fect-new-jaguar-xj-bl.html

  • THESUN.CO.UK KEN GIBSON, 10TH JULY

    Jaguar clearly believes that the XJ is the start of a new era and, asour exclusive pictures reveal, the bold XJ is no retro remake of thepast — this is a thoroughly modern Jag aimed at setting motoring trendsfor others to follow.
    http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/motors/ken_gibson/2526236/Jaguars-future-starts-here.html

  • AUTOCAR.CO.UK, 10TH JULY

    For what it's worth, I think the car's a very smart design – in bothsenses of the word. It's fresh, it's avant-garde, it's perfectlyproportioned, and you certainly can't help looking at it. AQuattroporte's prettier, sure – but, though it takes some getting usedto, I'd say this Jag isn't far behind.
    http://www.autocar.co.uk/blogs/anythinggoes/archive/2009/07/10/jaguar-xj-in-the-cold-light-of-day.aspx

  • CARGURUS.COM, 9TH JULY

    This car won't only take sales away from BMW and Mercedes, it'll be acompetitor to the likes of the Maserati Quattroporte and PorschePanamera.
    http://www.cargurus.com/blog/2009/07/09/brand-new-jaguar-xj-unveiled/

You need Flash Player 9 for the best website experience